All States in Nigeria have Covid-19 Case – NCDC


The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control(NCDC) confirmed that no state is free from the novel virus.

NCDC Director-General, Chikwe Ihekweazu, said this during the media briefing of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 in Abuja, monitored by our correspondent on Monday.

Ihekweazu said,

“No state, no single state in Nigeria is COVID-19-free, not one. No country in the world is COVID-19-free. Even New Zealand, that is an island state is still having new cases after a period of not having any.

“We can’t separate ourselves from the rest of the country. We live in a context, viruses spread, it’s the nature of them, so right now no state is COVID-19-free. That’s why we have to keep doing this work that we are doing, testing people, finding out if they have it.”

While no new stated has recorded a new case within 24 hours

“436 confirmed cases were reported in the last 24 hours from nineteen (19) states – Lagos (169), Oyo (52), Plateau (31), Imo (29), Kaduna (28), Ogun (23), Enugu (18), FCT (18),

Bauchi (17), Bayelsa (14), Rivers (8), Kano (6), Osun (6), Benue (5), Edo (5), Adamawa (3), Borno (2), Abia (1) and Ekiti (1).

“No new state recorded a confirmed COVID-19 case in the last 24 hours. The total number of states including FCT that have reported at least one confirmed case in Nigeria is still 36 (35 states + FCT).

“161 cases were discharged in the last 24 hours in thirteen (13) states – Edo (36), Rivers (35), Gombe (20), Kaduna (16), FCT (11), Plateau (11), Borno (9), Lagos (8), Niger (4), Akwa Ibom (3), Benue (3), Ogun (3) and Bauchi (2).

“12 deaths were recorded in the last 24 hours in nine (9) states – Lagos (3), FCT (2), Adamawa (1), Bayelsa (1), Niger (1), Ondo (1), Osun (1), Plateau (1) and Rivers (1).”

The PUNCH Confirmed to CMM

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top