Buhari Appointed 12 Ambassador


The Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, disclosed in a statement on Thursday.

The President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), has approved the re-appointments of 12 non-career ambassadors
The President, again, congratulates the ambassadors on the renewal, urging them to keep upholding and promoting the values of stewardship to Nigeria, while bridging good relations with other nations,” the statement added.

Emenike is currently Nigeria’s Ambassador to Ireland; Tugar is Nigerian Ambassador to Germany; Jidda is Nigeria’s Ambassador to China; while Irele is Nigerian Ambassador to France.

The announcement came barely 24 hours after the President requested the approval of the Senate for the confirmation of 41 non-career and one career ambassadorial nominees.

Shehu quoted Buhari as assuring Nigerians of fairness in representation and inclusiveness in all matters of governance.

He said the assurance from the President became necessary following recent complaints after the announcement of 41 non-career ambassadors that some states were not captured.

The ambassadors whose appointments were renewed are Uzoma Emenike (Abia); Yusuf Tuggar (Bauchi); Muhammad Madugu (Bauchi); Baba Jidda (Borno); Uyigue Oghogho (Edo); Eniola Ajayi (Ekiti); and Deborah Iliya (Kaduna).

Others are Mohammed Rimi (Katsina); Tijjani Muhammad-Bande (Kebbi); Modupe Irele (Lagos); Adeyinka Asekun (Ogun); and Goni Bura (Yobe).

The presidential aide said the renewal of the appointments followed a performance evaluation, which necessitated an approval for continuation in office of the ambassadors, and the President will still decide if they will remain in their current postings.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top